PDA

View Full Version : Compact 7 and cayin A88T Amp - Good match?

lobwah
30-09-2010, 04:48 PM
Hi All,

Im looking at purchasing the Compact 7ES-3 and have come across a Cayin A88T Amplifier.

I was wondering if anyone has used or come across this combination and any thoughts regarding this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks for reading.

Rob

kittykat
01-10-2010, 07:43 AM
Not exactly the answer you’re looking for but I have a Cayin A88T which I previously used with the SHL5’s. They seemed to sound “sweeter” than transistors (Bryston B60R which I now use instead). Imo and experience, the “sweetness” is tiring on the long run, as it adds a layer of sound (harmonic distortion?) which is actually not “there”. (i’m not a scientist or audiophile so im using these adjectives).

With transistors, the SHL5 might sound a bit dry and boring initially, but after extended listening, I realise that this shows off the potential of this great loudspeaker ie. the SHL5 being uncoloured, reflective of recording, tight (not bloomy), musical and just plain transparent.

This is of course a personal opinion and a listen on your own would be the most important. and one more thing is that with the Brystons, it is possible to listen to the Harbeths very loudly without hurting your ears. It can be so loud that it is no longer possible to talk to anyone but my ears can tolerate it. With the Cayin's and i imagine tubes this threshold is lower.

lobwah
04-10-2010, 07:54 AM
Thanks for your response Kittykat.

There are a few other options within my budget to consider like the naim 5i which people seem to find work well with harbeth.
Will keep researching.
Thanks again!

naim-c7
03-03-2012, 11:59 AM