Thread: Harbeth SHL5 - Using New Decoupling Discs

Marsanz Guest

Default Harbeth SHL5 - Using New Decoupling Discs

Hi All,

I have been watching this forum for awhile and finally decided to post. After reading all the reviews I finally took the plunge, six months ago I purchased a new pair of Harbeth Super HL5s, 30th Anniversary Edition wrapped in Eucalyptus. The hype is all true, talk about happy!*

I finally settled on purchasing a pair of Skylan stands from Noel. I have been reading some of the posts about how some of the members decouple their speakers from the stands or the floor. *

I thought I would share my findings, I have been talking to Noel on and off for about two months on how to get the best sound available using his stands. I took his advice and filled the columns with rice instead of kitty litter and I was more than pleased with the results. I have my stands on sitting on granite slabs with felt pads protecting wood floors. I have tried everything from pennies, to all different types of rubber and wood discs to try to achieve sonic nirvana between the speakers and the stands.*

Noel said he was working on a few prototype discs for his stands and sent me two different sets to try out. *One set was the diameter of a quarter and the other a nickel, they were about 1/4" thick, not sure what they were made of; think miniature hockey pucks. *I decided to use the medium size discs to decouple the speakers from the stands. I didn't know what to expect, maybe pick up a little on the high or low end or nothing at all.