Thread: Newbie considering Compact 7ES3 for a large room

Default Newbie considering Compact 7ES3 for a large room

Hi,

Say hello from a newbie here in Canada. I am planning to set up a separate audio system in the basement just for music alone. I have a large L shape room not divided, with about 12' W x 35' L x 7' H.

I have been using an old Rogers LS/2 bookshelf and are used to the British sound, this plus my music taste makes me consider the Harbeth, which I had a chance to audition lately. I listen to many kinds of music but mainly classical (from solo piano to chamber music, concertos and large orchestra work), also some instrumental/new age, vocal, Pops, etc. Not many rock music.

Source: i'm fully digital and use a Squeezebox 3 with lossless files on server. May consider adding a turn table later.

Amp:not decided.

Will Compact 7 works in the room size that I mentioned ? I really hope I don't have to go bigger due to cost. If I have to, I can add a bookshelf to use as a room divider to limit the size.

Thanks !

Default Listening Distance?

Hello Maple, welcome. It might help others in the know to ask a couple of questions: how far from the speakers do you sit? How far apart do you plan them to be? It is generally best to sit a little (not much) farther back than the distance between them.

Best wishes
    Ben from UK. Harbeth P3ESR owner.

Default Designing the room for best sound

Quote Originally Posted by BAS-H View Post
    Hello Maple, welcome. It might help others in the know to ask a couple of questions: how far from the speakers do you sit? How far apart do you plan them to be? It is generally best to sit a little (not much) farther back than the distance between them.

Best wishes