Thread: Harbeth SHL5 stands from Skylan stands filling

Post Harbeth SHL5 stands from Skylan stands filling

Dear friends,

I have been using SHL5s for 2 months and I am, as one might expect stunned by the sound, with totally new perspectives of a sound, reminding me of good old times of hi-fi spirit. Mine SHL5s are Exposure 2010S2-driven and sounds wonderful with The Chord Odissey 2 loudspeaker cables. From the beginning I was using wooden chairs, Ikea lookalikes, that were even 2x pricier, all natural wood built.

The sound was so good, it simply oozes delight... :-)

Mainly because of aesthetic reasons I have decided to buy dedicated Skylan stands from local representative and this move changes appearance dramatically in a positively way, but somehow influenced the sound quality in a negative way, not much, but let's say a for bit downwards. I would describe the sound as a 10% more "suffocated" and "dumped" than before. It's still fine though, but those "10% bits" are now bothering...

When assembled, I decided to fill Skylan stands, as it was written in manual, that means leaving about 5 cm or so unfilled. The filing material came from Skylan, and it was "SKY Premium Fill" what can be actually learned from their site.

Is there something I can do reduce mentioned negative effects i.e. filling the stands with less filler, because I'm not about to turn back to wooden Ikea-like chairs, since they are not visually (let/s put this way) acceptable?

Thanks in advance

Viktor

Default Skylan and my SHL5

Coincidently, I have changed to Skylan stands for SHL5. I find the result amazing. better than the DIY 4 column stands provided by the dealer. The 'blooming' effect was eliminated when it is speaker is position away from the walls and corners

I have requested to fill up the Skylan stand with 'glass bits' and only 3/4 filled.. i was told that the lighter the Skylan stands, the better it will be for the speakers..

Default SHL5 stand filler