Thread: Super HL5 Super Tweeter

Teuton Guest

Default Super HL5 Super Tweeter

Hey Alan,

What exactly is the function of the super tweeter? I have always been confused about them. I've seen 'passive' ones on really exotic speakers that supposedly add to the speaker's high frequency extension. However, I have never had it explained to me by a real speaker engineer in real world terminology.

I am a student of history, and will be entering graduate studies this fall. I have been saving my pennies to purchase a pair of Super HL5's---can't wait.

Regards

Default Re: Super HL5 Super Tweeter

The function of a super tweeter is nothing more than to boost the extreme high frequencies. Some believe that these frequencies right on the very edge of human hearing are influential in more accurately capturing the subtle nuances in music.

As a history scholar you're most welcome here. All the really great work in acoustics has been long researched. By the time you are in middle age and when a method has been found to directly inject 'sound' into the brain, all of this will seem as distant and remote as the industrial revolution. All I'd ask you to remember is that we, like they, were doing our best with the knowledge and tools we had available at the time. If we had more knowledge or better tools we could and would definitely do better. In the meantime, to be worthy of our place in history as those early engineers were, there is no place for anything other than proper attention to common sense and logic.
    Alan A. Shaw
    Designer, owner
    Harbeth Audio UK

Teuton Guest

Quote Originally Posted by A.S. View Post
    The function of a super tweeter is nothing more than to boost the extreme high frequencies. Some believe that these frequencies right on the very edge of human hearing are influential in more accurately capturing the subtle nuances in music.