Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Psychoacoustics - what is it and why does it matter?

Default Psychoacoustics - what is it and why does it matter?

This new section of the Harbeth Knowlwedge Archive looks at psychacoustics, meaning the way the human ear and brain perceive sound and interpret it.

Our entire auditory system developed not for listening to music or even speech, but to make us aware of our environment and specifically, predators in close proximity. In fact, in evolutionary terrms, music is a complete irrelevance, as it appeared only about 35,000 years ago.

I am not an expert on the hearing system, but even a rudimentary appreciation of how we hear is absolutely essential to be able to understand and intrpret why we like some sounds, and not others. And above all, to caution us about making irrational, emotional decisions when purchasig audio equipment because we've allowed (or encouraged) our ears to be seduced by our hearts and overrule our brain. In my opinion, audio should never be critically evaluated with the eyes open; a blindfold is essential. Failing that, look at the floor in the middle distance, but never at the equipment.

Some links: Overview here

This thread is in the objective, knowledge-tree part of the HUG. I welcome objective posts that further illuminate this fascinating and complex subject and draw on published research or professional experience. This is an important subject, and is Moderated.
    Alan A. Shaw
    Designer, owner
    Harbeth Audio UK

Default National Geographic "The Musical Brain"

I now remember the name of the documentary about musicians' brains. It's a Canadian TV production for National Geographic and its called "The Musical Brain" looking at the work by Dr. Daniel Levitin of McGill University. He has also written 2 books called "This is your brain on Music" and "The World in Six Songs".